WikiWikiWeb s are amazingly confusing things, given how simple they are! In the simplest terms they are a web based collaborative environment in which anyone can edit any page without logging in (notice the "Edit" link at the top of the page).
Sooo now that you know what they are you need to play around with them and get a hang of how they work. The best place to do is in the WikiSandBox, here you are welcome to do whatever you like and don't need to feel bad about messing something up.
Once you think you understand the basics you should create a user account (by clicking on UserPreferences in the top right corner), if you make it a wiki word (eg. with the two names capitalized and squished together like this: AdamShand) then it'll show up as a link anywhere you type it (for an example see the RecentChanges page).
Now that you have a user account you should create your very own homepage with a little bit of information about you (you can see examples at CategoryHomepage).
Now you are a full fledged PersonalTelco Wiki user. If you are still a little unsure what to do, don't worry, you don't have to do anything. You can just continue to use this as a normal read only web site, but in the future when you see a typo or want to add some information you are welcome to do so. There are only two requests when you edit a page.
- Please sign all of your changes with your name so people know who made the change and can reply directly to you if necessary.
- Please be respectful of other people's work. If you are making minor changes to fix typos, spelling mistakes or just to clear things up go ahead and change it directly. If you disagree or want to expand on something please add it beneath their work so you don't accidentally change their intended meaning or misrepresent them.
Finally don't worry, you can't accidentally break anything. Every change to any page is backed up and can be restored if something goes wrong. We also keep regular backups in case of disaster or someone malicious finds and exploits a bug. This means you can't seriously damage a page by mistake and it also means that anything that you contribute to the site can't be lost or deleted by someone else.
Well, that's the theory, anyway. Have at it.
Note: User preferences is located on top right not top left. So I corrected that information on this page. JS [CategoryDocumentation]